NZ Metro TC 20 July 2025 – R6 – Mia Holbrough
ID: RIB57225
Animal Name:
TALLANDFAST
Code:
Harness
Race Date:
20/07/2025
Race Club:
NZ Metropolitan Trotting Club Inc
Race Location:
Addington Raceway - 75 Jack Hinton Drive, Addington, Christchurch, 8024
Race Number:
R6
Hearing Date:
20/07/2025
Hearing Location:
Addington Raceway
Outcome: Proved
Penalty: Junior Driver Mia Holbrough is fined $300
Following the running of Race 6, Respondent Junior Driver, Ms Holbrough, denied a breach of Rule 858(1)(a) and (d), namely that as the Driver of TALLANDFAST, she delayed the start by failing to score up in the correct barrier position.
The Respondent endorsed the Information ‘I do not admit the breach of the Rule’ and confirmed she understood the Rule and the nature of the charge.
Ms Holbrough was assisted in the hearing by Ms Sheree Tomlinson.
Rule 858(1)(i) provides:
858(1) A driver must not:-
(a) Delay the start.
(d) Come to the start out of position
Using available video footage, Stipendiary Steward Mr Renault identified TALLANDFAST, driven by Ms Holbrough, who had drawn 6. Mr Renault used the race films to show Ms Ottley, who had drawn to the inside of Ms Holbrough. Mr Renault said the horses initially scored up correctly. However, during the middle of the score up, the Stewards, through the use of the video replay, said that Ms Holbrough took a hold of her horse and she shifted to the inside of Ms Ottley, as a result she was then on the inside of Ms Ottley. Accordingly, Ms Holbrough was then in the wrong place, given she was in-between Ms Ottley and Mr Orange’s horse, when she should have been outside Ms Ottley. This then meant that the Starter declared a false start, as the horse was in the incorrect position.
The Stewards called Ms Ottley. She said that she was scoring up normally, but close to the start, she noticed one horse on the inside of her, going in the gap between herself and Mr Orange. She said there was not enough room there for the runner and saw that it was number 7. She said she said, you are on the wrong side, you are number 7. Ms Ottley said she was aware she was to start on the outside of Mr Orange and Ms Holbrough was to start on her outside. She said she was initially scoring up at 5 and that she could not have been any closer to Mr Orange’s horse. When she noticed the horse on her inside out of position, she yelled at them to go to her outside. Ms Ottley said that she did not come into the mobile out of position.
Ms Holbrough had no questions for Ms Ottley.
The Stewards said that Ms Holbrough was initially in the correct position, but then has moved into the number 6 position too early, prior to the other horses moving down the track and into their correct positions.
Ms Holbrough, with the assistance of Ms Tomlinson, stated she was trying to get into her position, but then after the Starter starting yelling, she panicked and came in, rather than waiting for Ms Ottley and Mr Orange to move down. Further, she said that due to the new starting position and the need to give the number 1 horse more space, the other runners do not come into line as sharply as normal. She stated these factors contributed to her moving into the wrong position.
Reasons for Decision:
The Adjudicative Committee carefully reviewed the replays and considered the evidence presented. It is clear that when the runners were scoring up to the mobile, that initially Ms Holbrough was in the correct position, however, it is clear that she has taken a hold, then moved into the wrong position inside Ms Ottley. The Adjudicative Committee found that there was space for Ms Holbrough outside Ms Ottley. Ms Holbrough should have stayed in that position as she was initially, this then would have meant that as they rolled around to the start, she would have ended up in the correct opposition. The Adjudicative Committee agrees that it appears that Ms Holbrough has effectively panicked, rather than waiting for the horses to shifted down into their correct positions.
The Adjudicative Committee finds that Ms Holbrough did come to the start in the wrong position, which caused a false start. Therefore, she is in breach of the Rules.
Decision:
The charge is found proved.
Submissions for Penalty:
Stipendiary Steward Mr Renault produced the Respondent’s record, which showed a clear record. Mr Renault stated that Ms Holbrough had 114 prior drives.
Mr Renault stated that breaches of these two Rules were normally dealt with by the Minor Infringement System, with a fine of $300. Mr Renault submitted that a fine commensurate with the MIN system be considered as penalty in this case.
Ms Tomlinson, on behalf of Ms Holbrough, stated that $300 is a large sum for a Junior Driver.
Reasons for Penalty:
The Penalty Guide under the MIN system provides a $100 fine for being out of position and $200 fine for delaying the start. There is no reason to deviate from the standard fine under the MIN system in this case, that being a combined fine of $300.
After evaluating all the factors, the Adjudicative Committee determined a $300 fine to be an appropriate penalty in this case.
Conclusion:
The Respondent, Ms Holbrough, was fined the sum of $300.
Decision Date: 20/07/2025
Publish Date: 25/07/2025