Waikato TR 14 September 2025 – R2 – High Emotion

ID: RIB58826

Respondent(s):
Jack Taplin - Apprentice Jockey

Applicant:
Mr Fred Cornege - Trainer (CHATELLE ROSE)

Adjudicators:
Mr Bruce Mainwaring (Chair), Mrs Hilary Gray

Persons Present:
Mr Brady Jones - Senior Stipendiary Steward, Mr Jack Taplin- Jockey (HIGH EMOTION), Mr Joe Doyle - Jockey (CHATELLE ROSE), Mr Fred Cornege - Trainer (CHATELLE ROSE), Mr Stephen Marsh - Trainer (HIGH EMOTION)

Information Number:
A19076

Decision Type:
Protest

Rule(s):
642(1) - Other - Protest

Protest:
2nd v 1st

Animal Name:
HIGH EMOTION

Code:
Thoroughbred

Race Date:
14/09/2025

Race Club:
Waikato Thoroughbred Racing

Race Location:
Te Rapa Racecourse - Te Rapa Road, Hamilton, 3200

Race Number:
R2

Hearing Date:
14/09/2025

Hearing Location:
Te Rapa Racecourse - Ken Browne Drive Te Rapa, Hamilton 3200

Outcome: Protest Upheld

Penalty: N/A

Background:

Following the running of Race 2, the “C4C Rugs 1200”, an Information was lodged instigating a protest pursuant to Rule 642(1). The Applicant, Trainer of 2nd placed CHATELLE ROSE, Mr Fred Cornege, alleged interference in the final straight. The Information was worded as follows:

‘interference in the final straight’

The Judge’s provisional placings were as follows:

1st   HIGH EMOTION

2nd  CHATELLE ROSE

3rd   ARANYANI

4th   JUSTICE FOR ALL

The margin between 1st and 2nd place was a head.

Rule 642(1) provides:

“If a placed horse or its rider causes interference within the meaning of this Rule 642 to another placed horse, and the Adjudicative Committee is of opinion that the horse so interfered with would have finished ahead of the first mentioned horse had such interference not occurred, they may place the first mentioned horse immediately after the horse interfered with”.

The Rule was read to those present.

Evidence:

Prior to hearing submissions, Stewards showed all available film identifying the incident, alleged interference and runners involved.

The protest was lodged on the grounds that CHATELLE ROSE had begun its run early in the straight and was finishing strongly. Mr Doyle contended that his mount was ‘bumped’ initially at the 200 metre point with this continuing to the finish line costing his horse the race. Mr Cornege concurred with Mr Doyle adding that his horse was unable to maintain its line as a result of the movement. Mr Marsh speaking on behalf of the Respondent acknowledged interference at the 200 metre mark, that the horses ‘got tight’ near the line however Mr Doyle never stopped riding his mount. He contended that following the initial bump CHATELLE ROSE had got its head in front, that his horse had fought back to the lead with the last contact being so close to the line as to be immaterial to the outcome.

Stewards provided input by way of noting that HIGH EMOTION had moved out abruptly just prior to the 200 metre mark taking the ‘rightful’  line of CHATELLE ROSE. The horses then race relatively interference free to the 100 metre when contact was again made. Stewards contended there was merit in the protest.

Reasons for Decision:

In accordance with the requirements of the Rule, the Adjudicative Committee, if upholding a protest, must firstly establish that interference occurred; and secondly, if interference is established, the horse interfered with would have beaten the other runner, had such interference not occurred.

Rule 642(2)(b) provides definition in respect of interference.  Based upon the definition, film viewed and submissions the Adjudicative Committee determined that interference was evident.

The Adjudicative Committee consider that at the point of the initial interference CHATELLE ROSE was within 1/2 length of heading HIGH EMOTION. The horse was forced out at 3-4 horse widths as a result of the movement. Again at the 100 metre mark the horse was forced off its line. Interference was such as to materially affect the chances of the horse.

Upon considering submissions, the degree of interference and the point at which same took place the Adjudicative Committee were of the view that had the interference not taken place the horse so affected by the interference would have finished in front of the horse causing such interference. On that basis the protest as upheld.

Decision:

The protest was upheld with the amended placings being:

1st CHATELLE ROSE

2nd HIGH EMOTION

3rd ARANYANI

4th JUSTICE FOR ALL

The payment of stakes and dividends are authorised in accordance with such decision.

Decision Date: 14/09/2025

Publish Date: 16/09/2025