Kurow RC 30 December 2022 – R1 – SHAKIB

ID: RIB14533

Respondent(s):
Amber Hoffman - Trainer

Applicant:
Mr P Harris, Trainer

Adjudicators:
Geoff Hall

Persons Present:
Mr Harris, Ms Hoffman, Mr Montes de Oca-Rider ROYAL KHAN, Mr B May-Rider SHAKIB, Mr M Davidson-Stipendiary Steward

Information Number:
A16094

Decision Type:
Protest

Rule(s):
642(1) - Riding/driving infringement

Plea:
Contested

Protest:
3rd against 2nd

Animal Name:
SHAKIB

Code:
Thoroughbred

Race Date:
30/12/2022

Race Club:
Kurow Jockey Club

Race Location:
Kurow Racecourse - Omarama-Oamaru Road, Kurow,

Race Number:
R1

Hearing Date:
30/12/2022

Hearing Location:
Kurow

Outcome: Protest Dismissed

Penalty: N/A

At the conclusion of Race 1, Mr Harris, Trainer of horse number 10, ROYAL KHAN, placed 3rd by the Judge alleged that horse number 4, SHAKIB, placed 2nd by the Judge interfered with his horse’s chances in the final straight.

Rule 642(1) states:

If a placed horse or its Rider causes interference within the meaning of this Rule 642 to another placed horse, and the Judicial Committee is of the opinion that the horse so interfered with would have finished ahead of the first mentioned horse had such interference not occurred, they may place the first mentioned horse immediately after the horse interfered with.

Judge’s placings were:

1st – 2 ALLASERA

2nd – 4 SHAKIB

3rd – 10 ROYAL KHAN

4th – 9 HEADS UP

The margin between 2nd and 3rd was a neck.

Mr Davidson showed the head-on and side-on videos without comment.

Mr Harris stated that SHAKIB, ridden by Mr May, had shifted in in the home straight. He said Mr May was using his elbow and ROYAL KHAN which was mounting a run to the inside of SHAKIB, had received substantial interference. He said his horse had been hit twice by SHAKIB in the straight. He demonstrated this on the video. He said Mr de Oca had been impeded and that ROYAL KHAN had not been able to balance up. He believed this had cost his horse second placing.

Mr de Oca said he had got a run to the inside of SHAKIB. There had been some contact. He thought this had not greatly hindered ROYAL KHAN.

Ms Hoffman stated with respect to the contact that Mr de Oca had come out a little, while Mr May had come in.

Mr May said Mr de Oca was pushing through to the inside of SHAKIB. He was trying to keep clear of ROYAL KHAN. He believed both horses had had a fair run from the 400 metres. He was riding SHAKIB hands and heels at the end and was drawing away from ROYAL KHAN at the winning post.

Mr Davidson, when asked to comment, said that the Stewards believed there was little in the first point of contact. SHAKIB had been straightened. Both horses had then shifted ground. Mr de Oca had been placed in a wee bit of restricted room and there was minor contact just past the 50 metres.

Decision

The initial contact between ROYAL KHAN and SHAKIB is not such that it can be said that ROYAL KHAN suffered any significant interference. Both horses then shift ground, and the two horses brush at about the 50 metres. Mr de Oca is briefly placed in restricted room. There is no apparent loss of momentum by ROYAL KHAN. It is minor contact and is close to the winning post.

In exercising its discretion and dismissing the protest, the Committee is satisfied the degree of interference is not such that it can be concluded that ROYAL KHAN would have finished ahead of SHAKIB had this interference not occurred. The margin is a neck and Mr May is correct when he asserts that SHAKIB was drawing away from ROYAL KHAN at the line.

The protest is dismissed

Placings are as the horses crossed the line. Dividends and stakes are to be paid accordingly.

Decision Date: 30/12/2022

Publish Date: 18/01/2023