Hawkes Bay R 2 October 2021 – R4 – Taiki Yanagida

ID: RIB5004

Respondent(s):
Taiki Yanagida - Apprentice Jockey

Applicant:
Mr J Oatham - Chief Stipendiary Steward

Adjudicators:
N Moffatt and B Mainwaring

Persons Present:
Neil Goodwin - Stipendiary Steward, Ms Kim Clapperton - Central Districts Apprentice Mentor

Information Number:
A15601

Decision Type:
Adjudicative Decision

Charge:
careless riding

Rule(s):
638(1)(d)

Plea:
Admitted

Animal Name:
RUSAVY

Code:
Thoroughbred

Race Date:
02/10/2021

Race Club:
Hawkes Bay Race Club

Race Location:
Hastings Racecourse - 200 Prospect Road, Hastings, 4122

Race Number:
R4

Hearing Date:
02/10/2021

Hearing Location:
Hastings Racecourse

Outcome: Proved

Penalty: Apprentice Jockey Taiki Yanagida suspended 8 days

SUMMARY OF FACTS:

Following the running of Race 4, an Information was lodged by Mr Oatham alleging a breach of Rule 638 (1) (d) in that T Yanagida (RUSAVY) allowed his mount to shift inwards in the home straight when  not clear of LORD ESPERANZA which was tightened and RUM which was checked.

Mr Oatham had Mr Goodwin explain the incident with the assistance of three video angles. He showed Mr Yanagida at the 200m mark racing in a position 3 -in from the outside runner. Mr Yanagida started to come inwards and drew his whip as he continued on an inward movement. Ms O’Beirne was on a weakening LORD ESPERANZA when Mr Yanagida took her line of running forcing her in onto RUM who was checked.

Mr Yanagida said that on the corner, at the 600m mark, he received pressure from his inside when Ms O’Beirne eased him out. From that point he was trying to maintain his position by using his whip to keep pushing forward. He also stated that he received some outside pressure from Mr Cameron’s mount. His horse was not travelling that well and it lost some concentration. In support of Mr Yanagida, Ms Clapperton said it was when he hit his horse that it moved inwards but the movement was gradual, and only about 1-2 horse widths in total. Prior to this he was riding hands and heels trying to keep a straight line. Ms Clapperton said the damage was worse than Mr Yanagida’s inward movement.

REASON FOR DECISION:

As Mr Yanagida admitted the breach it was deemed proved.

SUBMISSION FOR PENALTY:

Mr Oatham said  Mr Yanagida had five previous charges under the Careless Riding Rule in the last 12 months, and he read the list out to the Committee. In that timeframe he has had 407 rides. Mr Oatham said today’s incident went on for some time and caused significant interference to two other horses. The Stewards’ submission was that it was a midrange breach and submitted a suspension in line with the Penalty Guide would be appropriate.

Mr Yanagida asked the Committee to take into account that his horse overreacted a little.

REASON FOR PENALTY:

In setting penalty, the Committee had regard to all submissions and was satisfied that Mr Yanagida’s carelessness sat in the midrange. We note his explanation for using the whip but this decision led to his mount moving inwards to such a degree that it caused interference to runners on his inside. In line with the new Penalty Guidelines the Committee adopted a starting point of 7 days suspension. Mr Yanagida does not have a good record with 5 breaches in the last 12 months however the two earliest breaches were 11 months ago and almost out of the 12 month timeframe. Taking into account all these factors including his admission of the breach an 8 -day suspension was considered appropriate. Mr Yanagida advised any suspension could begin after tomorrow.

CONCLUSIONS:

Accordingly, Mr Yanagida is suspended from the close of racing on Sunday October 4th up to and including racing on Friday October 15th, 2021.

Decision Date: 02/10/2021

Publish Date: 05/10/2021