Our Board and Chief Executive

Chair – Sir Bruce Robertson

Sir Bruce was appointed in 2020 by the Minister for Racing to be the Chair of the Establishment Board setting up the Racing Integrity Board and was subsequently appointed to be the Chair of the Racing Integrity Board.  He has been a Judge of the Court of Appeal and President of the New Zealand Law Commission, and was appointed a Knight Companion of the New Zealand Order of Merit in 2010.

Sir Bruce has extensive experience in sporting and occupational integrity and disciplinary matters, being the current Chair of the New Zealand Sports Tribunal and the Financial Advisers Disciplinary Committee.

Board member – Kristy McDonald ONZM QC

Kristy McDonald QC was Deputy Chair of the Establishment Board prior to being appointed as a member of the Racing Integrity Board.  Kristy is a senior barrister and Queen’s Counsel with over 40 years of litigation and adjudication experience. She has undertaken a range of government and public sector inquiries.  She was the independent Chair of the Judicial Control Authority for Racing from 2008 to 2015.

Kristy is a member of the NZ Institute of Directors. She was a director of ACC and currently holds a number of private and public board appointments, including Chair of Kiwifruit New Zealand and board member roles for the Racing Industry Transition Agency, TAB NZ and the New Zealand Markets Disciplinary Tribunal.

Board member – Dr Patricia Pearce

Trish Pearce is a New Zealand-trained and widely published veterinarian with over 25 years’ experience working for government agencies. She is a current Establishment Board member.

Following roles leading animal welfare compliance, event and emergency mitigation and response at the Ministry of Agriculture and Forestry (now MPI), Trish’s most recent focus has been specifically in equine health and welfare. Through her involvement with the New Zealand Equine Health Association, Trish has an excellent appreciation and understanding of the animal welfare issues and concerns in the horse racing industry, and equine welfare best practice.

Board member – Brent Williams

Brent was an Establishment Board member prior to his appoint to the Racing Integrity Board. He worked as a harness racing Stipendiary Steward for 20 years before taking up executive roles in the agri-export sector. Since 2014 he has been on the board of the Judicial Control Authority for Racing. He is currently a board member of the NZ Egg Producers Federation.

Brent’s understanding of the role and purpose of the racing integrity system, acquired at the functional and governance level, will be invaluable to the Racing Integrity Board’s role and strategic focus. Brent has for many years pursued breeding and occasional racing interests in the harness code.

Board member – Penny Mudford ONZM

Ms Penny Mudford is a company director, arbitrator and mediator with more than 20 years’ experience in dispute resolution in the primary industries sector. She is a Fellow of the Arbitrators and Mediators Institute of New Zealand and currently sits on various dispute resolution panels and disciplinary committees.

Ms Mudford has held governance roles on the Veterinary Council of New Zealand, New Zealand Walking Access Commission, and Eastern and Central Community Trust. She is a former Chair of the Electrical Workers Registration Board and Rural Women New Zealand. She was Chair of the Racing Safety Development Fund Industry Working Group between 2013-2021. 

In 2018 she was made an Officer of the New Zealand Order of Merit for her contributions to arbitration and the primary industry sector.

Chief Executive – Mike Clement

Mike took retirement from the New Zealand Police last year after 42 years of service. He was Deputy Commissioner National Operations at Police Headquarters from 2014 and prior to that he was District Commander Auckland City.

Mike has extensive leadership and management experience in regulatory and investigative matters within wider legal and justice settings. He has a proven ability to work effectively with a broad range of stakeholders in a way which inspires trust and confidence, and delivers positive outcomes.  He is a board member of the Louise Nicholas Trust, a charitable trust which advocates for the survivors of sexual abuse.