Otago RC 28 November 2021 – R1 – NO QUARTER ASKED

ID: RIB6123

Respondent(s):
Kelvin Tyler - Trainer

Applicant:
Mr Daniel Bothamley, Rider of SPONSOR

Adjudicators:
Geoff Hall

Persons Present:
Mr Savish Khetoo, Rider of NO QUARTER ASKED - Mr Mark Davidson, Stipendiary Steward

Information Number:
A15880

Decision Type:
Protest

Rule(s):
642

Plea:
Contested

Protest:
PROTEST

Animal Name:
NO QUARTER ASKED

Code:
Thoroughbred

Race Date:
28/11/2021

Race Club:
Otago Racing Club

Race Location:
Cromwell Racecourse - Wanaka- Queenstown Highway, Cromwell,

Race Number:
R1

Hearing Date:
28/11/2021

Hearing Location:
Cromwell

Outcome: Protest Upheld

Penalty: relegation

Following the running of Race 1 Mr Bothamley, the Rider of the second placed horse, SPONSOR, protested against the first placed horse NO QUARTER ASKED alleging interference inside the final 100 metres.

The Judge’s placings were:

1st       5   NO QUARTER ASKED

2nd      8   SPONSOR

3rd      1    NOBLE KNIGHT

4th     3    LEVON

The margin between first and second was a nose.

Mr Bothamley, with reference to the videos, said that from some 25 metres or so out from the line he received 2 bumps when NO QUARTER ASKED shifted ground. He referred primarily to one bump (the second one), and he believed it had cost his mount, SPONSOR, at least a nose, which was the margin between 1st and 2nd. His horse was put off stride. With respect to the first bump, he said he had to straighten his horse.

Mr Tyler said with respect to the first incident, SPONSOR had come in to the same extent that NO QUARTER ASKED had shifted out. He believed Mr Bothamley had not stopped riding and any contact was minimal. He added he believed the contact with SPONSOR at this time had cost NO QUARTER ASKED a head. With respect to the second incident, he said this was close to the line and again he believed Mr Bothamley had not stopped riding. He thought both horses had shifted ground and that SPONSOR had had every opportunity to win the race.

Mr Davidson, Stipendiary Steward, was asked to comment on the evidence and the videos. He said that the Stewards believed there was not contact in the first incident. With respect to the second incident, which was some 20 metres from the line, there was contact. NO QUARTER ASKED was shifting ground, there was clear contact, and SPONSOR was forced wider on the track as a consequence.

The first incident is simply a matter of one horse shifting out and the other shifting in. There does not appear to be contact and neither horse’s chances are significantly affected by this movement. The second incident is closer to the winning post. It is some 20 metres from the line. There is contact between NO QUARTER ASKED and SPONSOR and the latter horse is clearly taken off its line and forced wider on the track as a consequence of the outwards movement from NO QUARTER ASKED. There is thus interference to SPONSOR by NO QUARTER ASKED.

The Committee has to be of the opinion that SPONSOR would have finished ahead of NO QUARTER ASKED had the interference not occurred. Having regard to the fact the margin is only a nose, the Committee is satisfied that the interference is severe enough to warrant a change of placings.

The protest is upheld.

The amended placings are:

1st       8 SPONSOR

2nd      5 NO QUARTER ASKED

3rd      1 NOBLE KNIGHT

4th     3 LEVON

Stakes and dividends are to be paid accordingly.

Decision Date: 28/11/2021

Publish Date: 01/12/2021