Ashburton TC 1 June 2025 – R6 – HARRIET’S MOMENT

ID: RIB55661

Respondent(s):
Richard Terence May - Driver

Applicant:
Shane Renault, Stipendiary Steward

Adjudicators:
Russell McKenzie

Persons Present:
Mr Renault, Mr May and Mr Chris Morrison

Information Number:
A20042

Decision Type:
Protest

Rule(s):
859(2) - Riding/driving infringement

Plea:
Contested

Protest:
Against 3rd placing

Animal Name:
Harriet's Moment

Code:
Harness

Race Date:
01/06/2025

Race Club:
Ashburton Trotting Club

Race Location:
Ashburton Racecourse - Racecourse Road, Ashburton, 7700

Race Number:
R6

Hearing Date:
01/06/2025

Hearing Location:
Ashburton Racecourse, Ashburton

Outcome: Protest Upheld

Penalty: N/A

Following the running of Race 6, G & R Partnership Trot, an Information instigating a protest was filed by Stipendiary Steward, Shane Renault, alleging that HARRIET’S MOMENT (Ricky May) “started from the incorrect barrier position and in doing so gained an advantage”.

Mr May was named as Respondent and was present at the hearing of the protest. Also present was Mr Chris Morrison, a member of the owner, Strappers Syndicate.

Rule 859 provides as follows:

(2)     No driver shall permit a horse to start and no horse shall start other than from its correct barrier position or in advance of its correct barrier position (either at a standing, mobile, or moving start), unless directed by the Starter.

The official result was as follows:

1st   4   Silvester

2nd  7   Lindy’s Rocket

3rd 13   Harriet’s Moment

4th   8   Bodacious

5th  6    Without Comparison

EVIDENCE:

Stipendiary Steward, Shane Renault, showed a video replay of the start of the race – a 2400 metres standing start. He pointed out two runners – HARRIET’S MOMENT (driven by Mr May), drawn to start in barrier position Unruly 3 on the front row and MIDNIGHT DIAMOND (Robbie Holmes), drawn to start from Unruly 2.

Mr Renault pointed out that, prior to the start, Mr May’s horse was very fractious. Mr Holmes was attempting to come up to the inside of Mr May. He was hampered in attempting to do so, and had to go around Mr May. Mr Renault showed on the replay that, at this point, Mr May was clearly to the inside of Mr Holmes. The race was started and Mr May clearly started to the inside of Mr Holmes, Mr Renault submitted.

Shortly after the start, Mr May was able to get a run along the markers and save many lengths in doing so, being in 4th place at the first bend, Mr Renault said. Stewards were alleging that he had gained an advantage in doing so. Had the horse started from where it should have, it would not have obtained that start and would likely have settled many lengths back being “stuck in traffic”, Mr Renault submitted. HARRIET’S MOMENT finished in 3rd placing.

Mr Renault said that the Starter had reported that he could not wait any longer, as the other runners were ready to go. The Adjudicative Committee was aware that this was the second attempt at a start.

Mr May said that Mr Holmes did have to go around him, but had not intended to take the run that he, Mr May, did. He had gone to the markers, as there were so many runners on the outside. He had also made a better beginning than Mr Holmes. He conceded that he would not have got the run that he did, had Mr Holmes started inside him.

Mr Morrison said that Mr Holmes’ horse was also sideways on to the barrier.

In response, Mr Renault submitted that Mr Holmes’ horse was coming up with “no issues” and had to go around Mr May.

Mr Renault sought disqualification of HARRIET’S MOMENT.

DECISION:

The protest was upheld.

REASONS FOR DECISION:

The start of the race was untidy, to say the least. HARRIET’S MOMENT was proving fractious and, through no fault on the part of Mr May, hampered Mr Holmes’ runner coming into line. It was forced to go around Mr May, as the start was imminent, resulting in it starting from Unruly 3 instead of Unruly 2, which spot had been taken by HARRIET’S MOMENT.

The replay showed that HARRIET’S MOMENT was clearly advantaged as a result and was able to progress to a position of 4th on the markers and in clear racing room, in the 14-horse field, after 200-300 metres.

The Adjudicative Committee is satisfied that HARRIET’S MOMENT did start from the incorrect barrier position (Unruly 2 instead of Unruly 3) and, in doing so, clearly gained an advantage as stated. The problems caused by HARRIET’S MOMENT during the score-up, compromised the fairness and integrity of the race.

CONCLUSION:

The protest was upheld and HARRIET’S MOMENT was disqualified. Consequent upon the disqualification, the amended official result was as follows:

1st   4  Silvester

2nd  7  Lindy’s Rocket

3rd   8  Bodacious

4th   6  Without Comparison

It was ordered that dividends and stake be paid in accordance with that amended result.

Decision Date: 01/06/2025

Publish Date: 06/06/2025